Album arrow Stationary


Price (piece): AUD $25.00 (includes 10% tax)


Stationary is the debut release of FGHR – Darryn Farrugia (drums), Leonard Grigoryan (guitars), Luke Howard (piano) and Ben Robertson (acoustic bass) – who are some of Australia’s finest contemporary musicians.

The album features lush original compositions of song-based instrumentals with folk and European jazz influences, evoking images of vast cinematic landscapes.

In a nod to the tradition of improvised music covering popular song, the album opens with a rearrangement of the Missy Higgins song “All for Believing”.

Although all members are accomplished improvisers in the jazz idiom, the focus is textural rather than improvisational, emphasising group interplay over individual expression.

...heartfelt lyricism from pianist Luke Howard...
...instinctively lyrical piano lines...shimmering piano accompaniment...” - The Age


Darryn Farrugia: now based in London, after nine years on “Hey Hey It’s Saturday”, Tom Jones, Joe Cocker, Bonnie Raitt, Jackson Browne, Ernie Watts, B.B. King, Tommy Emmanuel, Renee Geyer, Barry Manilow, Lou Rawls, Olivia Newton John and Randy Crawford to name a few.

Leonard Grigoryan: born in 1985, brother of Slava, guest on Slava’s ARIA award winning album “Sonatas and Fantasies”, appeared at many festivals, debut in March 2006 at Wigmore Hall with Slava, soloist with the Melbourne, Queensland and Tasmanian symphonies

Luke Howard: piano, has performed with Phil Gould (Level 42), Paul Grabowsky, Doug Parkinson, the Melbourne Symphony. Twice finalist at the prestigious Montreux Jazz Festival Solo Piano Competition, winner of the Keith and Elisabeth Murdoch Travelling Fellowship

Ben Robertson: Australia’s foremost double bass player, credits on over 60 jazz and commercial CD releases, performed in diverse situations with artists such as James Morrison, and visiting artists Lee Konitz, American Broadway diva Barbara Cook, singer Mark Murphy.


Darryn Farrugia - drums
Leonard Grigoryan – guitars
Luke Howard – piano and keyboards
Ben Robertson – double bass
Emma Gilmartin – voice
Alex Pertout – percussion


All For Believing
Red Red Road
Out of Darkness
The Eyes Have It
Open Your Eyes

Listen to 'Red Red Road'