top of page

The Secret One 

Al Slavik

On The Border - Al Slavik

Al Slavik – vocals, bass, chapman stick, guitar, keyboards, programming
Christian Eigner – drums
Gus Isidore – acoustic and electric guitars
Dominic Miller – nylon and electric guitars
Slava Grigoryan – classical guitar
Robert Altmann – electric guitar
Bobby Tench – electric guitar
Mark Tibenham – piano, backing vocals
Mike Westergaard – additional programming
Derek Wadsworth – trombone
Simon Strevens – backing vocals
T.J. Davies – backing vocals
Chris Harvey Ryall – whistling

Born in Vienna, Al Slavik is regarded as one of Europe’s finest electric bass and Chapman Stick players. However, his most personal work is as a singer/songwriter. 

In 1995, he moved to London and soon became well known and highly respected in the English competitive music scene. Over the next decade he worked with some of the UK´s best musicians and producers in the Pop, Rock and Jazz genres. Al is now based in Melbourne, Australia and has released his third album (second solo CD) ‘The Secret One’. 

“The Secret One is a very personal snapshot of my time in London. The twelve songs on this album capture the emotion, groove and many friendships that were forged during his time there,” says Al. 

An all-star line-up on The Secret One features guitarists Gus Isidore (Seal, Peter Gabriel), Dominic Miller (Sting, Phil Collins), Bobby Tench (Jeff Beck, Van Morrison), Slava Grigoryan and drummer Christian Eigner (Depeche Mode), among others. The album is a timeless mix of energy and superb musicianship that is rarely heard in today’s crowded world of pop music. 

In a career spanning more than 20 years Al has also shared the studio & stage with Alphaville (Forever Young), Level 42’s Phil & Boon Gould & Mike Lindup, Marieclaire Dubaldo (co-writer with Celine Dion, KD Lang), David Clayton (George Michael, U2, Depeche Mode), Guy Chambers (Robbie Williams), Danny Cummings (Mark Knopfler, Pet Shop Boys), Sagat Guirey (Nigel Kennedy), Angus Thomas (Miles Davies), Alegre Correa (Joe Zawinul), Alfredo Moura (Sergio Mendes) and recently Adrian Belew, stunt guitarist with King Krimson, David Bowie & Frank Zappa to name but a few.

bottom of page